Death, A Trip of a Lifetime

75 years old is my cut-off.  Take it or leave it.  I just don’t want God to forget all about me and let me live till the turn of the next century. 
I have discussed this with my sisters what I want to wear in the casket.  It will be my red dress that Mother made for me when I was in my twenties and still fits me.  The dress has been used by my sisters and nieces, and I keep on telling them to take good care of it because I need it for my burial gown.  
On the checklist is the reading at the mass, what songs to play (happy songs, please), no black dress in the funeral, cremation and of course, the Last Will and Testament. 
There, I am ready, any time, take me home. 
As for the Requiem, vengeance is mine.  I want to surprise them with an envelope to be read in the church should the priest allow it.  And at the end, one slide show, a pre-recorded  of my  last statement and a projection of my beautiful smile. 
The reading would be about Beatitudes, the teaching of Jesus Christ that in my opinion replaces the Ten Commandments of Moses.  
Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are they that mourn; for they shall be comforted
Blessed are the meek; for they shall inherit the earth.
Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness; for they shall be filled.
Blessed are the merciful; for they shall obtain mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart; for they shall see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers; for they shall be called the children of God. 
And in my pre-recorded voice: Lunch on me, let’s party and dance. And a smile.  Let’s move to the church hall. 
 
 This is in response to Daily Prompt: Write your own Eulogy.  Come and join us, it’s fun.
 
Read this:
Enjoy every moment you can

27 thoughts on “Death, A Trip of a Lifetime

  1. Woohoo! Lets get this party started in here!! Hahaha… Darling red…really? Isn’t white pure?? Okay, Perpetua I’m teasing you!! Sounds like fun and why not! It’s the final encore! Night night ……Hugs Paula x

  2. Love the Beatitudes read at your funeral, Seeker. I also love replacing the ten commandments with them.
    I can see why you will have a party at your funeral since you are a peacemaker/child of God.

  3. It’s odd, but I’m less frightened of death now than when I was young and I thought I had forever ahead of me. I’m not so sure, though, that I’m ready to write my eulogy. Liked yours, even the gap toothed smile that seems to add a bit of levity to the proceedings. 🙂

    • Good morning Mary, a requiem is a serious piece like what Mozart composed but I will take it lightly because life is serious enough. Maybe by the time I come to near death, I will have lesser teeth 😀

Please share your reflection. Thank you.