A Promise – A Vow

I made a promise – I vowed that one day, when Stacey had won her fight, when she was healthy again, when she was ready, I would ride with her in the Ride to Conquer Cancer which she never had a chance to complete. In December 2012, I received a text message from Stacey, which simply read: “Let’s do this!”I am looking for your support for one more ride on June 15, 2013 – to thank and support the doctors that saved my Dad, to help keep a promise to a friend, to help celebrate Stacey Olynyk’s victory over cancer and to help dedicate this ride to her twin sister Karen – inspired by her unimaginable strength, courage, bravery and fight.

Thanks for your support! “LET”S DO THIS!” ~~ Mike

Mike is my cousin and I am so proud of him.  I wrote about his dad when I started blogging titledLove and Valor”.  I also featured our Grandmother and his family (before he was born) in Mosaic of Cultures.

I received an e-mail from him tonight “ONLY 5 DAYS LEFT TO GO!”  Oh dear, here I go again, the greatest procrastinator of all.  I haven’t done anything in terms of supporting him.  I have until May 11.  Well, I thrive on pressure. 

It’s either I go to Victoria to cheer him and his team, go see my Aunt to buy some tickets, use the snail mail for the donation or donate on-line.  Too many choices.  I’ll sleep over it and tomorrow, with a fresh mind, I’ll decide. 

Without any further ado, my bragging rights.  Meet Mr. Mike Gonzalez and The Team Spaghetti Factory.  Let’s conquer CANCER! 

untitled
 
 Related articles

16 thoughts on “A Promise – A Vow

      • Aw, cool! Have you decided if you are going there yet? I hate cancer … My nightshirt says f&$k Cancer. I love it. Got it as part of a fundraising drive for this woman who needed help because of cancer. I wish good luck to everyone involved! 🙂

  1. I hit like but its not playing the game! Darn it! Lol
    I don’t know hardly any families that haven’t been touched by cancer. Its so cruel and takes so many loved ones away. Hugs Paula. Xxx

Please share your reflection. Thank you.