I’ll Never Find Another You

Singing is a form of prayer.  

As I mentioned on this post, A Song, A Book, My Name, I grew up singing The Pilgrim Song.  This is another song that I sing since childhood.  It is not a traditional hymn but it draws me nearer to the Lord.  I know there is a Promised Land.

There’s a new world somewhere
They call The Promised Land
And I’ll be there some day
If you will hold my hand
I still need you there beside me
No matter what I do
For I know I’ll never find another you

There is always someone
For each of us they say
And you’ll be my someone
For ever and a day
I could search the whole world over
Until my life is through
But I know I’ll never find another you

It’s a long, long journey
So stay by my side
When I walk through the storm
You’ll be my guide
Be my guide

If they gave me a fortune
My pleasure would be small
I could lose it all tomorrow
And never mind at all
But if I should lose your love, dear
I don’t know what I’d do
For I know I’ll never find another you

But if I should lose your love, dear
I don’t know what I’d do
For I know I’ll never find another you
Another you
Another you

YouTube:  Click to listen to the song by The Seekers 
“I will pray with the spirit, and I will pray with the understanding also: I will sing with the spirit, and I will sing with the understanding also.” ~ 1 Corinthians 14:15 
Related Links:

26 thoughts on “I’ll Never Find Another You

      • Meant to ask; are you referring to the version by the ‘The Seekers’ (no pun)….an Australian group of the sixties and seventies…….in fact they have just had a reunion. Now I’m really excited I have just re-read your post, seen and clicked the YouTube link. Beautiful. Just a pity Judith is not well.

        When in Canada in 1976, and wanting a touch of Oz (a bit homesick), I used to go to the local coffee shop and listen to Olivia Newton John’s hit of the moment. The Seekers have a similar effect even now.

      • No other else, The Seekers. Yes, I have been following them. Well, we can’t remain young and healthy forever. I really like this group. They have stayed together for a long time and their songs are far superior than what I hear now. Oh, Olivia, yes, yes. She’s a wonderful performer, too. She paired up with John Travolta at the movie Grease. I got my name from The Seekers. 😛

      • Two magnificent entertainers who called Australia home….although Olivia was born in England and lived for a long while in the USA. Have a feeling the Seekers may have had an English background also. Will Google it later.

  1. I love singing … but I’ve learned to be kind to others by waiting till I’m alone! I dedicated my day as prayer/vigil for friend who’s going through a rough time … don’t worry, I won’t sing for you. LOL 🙂

  2. My husband, now Catholic, grew up attending tent meetings and gospel churches. He loves songs like this. Whatever moves our hearts towards God makes us pray. St. Augustine said that singing is praying twice. I totally agree. My favorite song is “You’ll Never Walk Alone”. Here’s Elvis: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mN8oN8I3lrk

    He had such a sad life and such a gorgeous voice.

  3. I have always loved this song. Singing can be praying, yes indeed. So can our sighs – I am always grateful that God hears my prayers, even those I can only feel. I am to sing a special next Sunday, this is going to be it. thank you.

      • I am very not a singer! LOL. our church is small and limited to those of us willing to share with the congregation. We do have some excellent talent, but I am a mediocre voice among them. But I sing with love!

Please share your reflection. Thank you.