Happiness: Buddha style

Happiness is not about maximizing and accumulating pleasurable experiences. As the Buddha pointed out, impermanence is the order of the day. Pleasures are inherently fleeting and don’t provide a solid foundation for enduring satisfaction.

When you take care of meaning, positivity has a way of taking care of itself. In other words, you don’t have to strive to be happy and collect all those extroverted types of “happy” experiences. Instead, when you engage with meaningful projects in the present moment, particularly ones that benefit others, positive emotions naturally follow.
buddhaThe Buddha’s version of happiness might be most aptly captured by the term that often gets translated as equanimity. Equanimity refers to being there in the middle of things, without needing things to be different than they are. Equanimity brings acceptance and interest to what is happening at the moment.

From this perspective, it is possible to be “happy” even when things are not going well. There is great freedom found in the capacity to be equanimous. Perhaps this is why the Buddha always has that contended little half-smile on his face.

The Buddha didn’t need excitement, thrills, and “good times” to be happy. His happiness was quiet contentment that abided in every moment, regardless of what was happening. Introverts, like the Buddha, have access to a rich interior experience. We need to learn to keep that inner intensity from becoming an obsession, rumination, and worry.

We can embrace this aspect of our Buddha-nature when we expand our definition of happiness to move beyond high arousal, extrovert-dominated one to include low-arousal introverted-based feelings.

Happiness resides in contentment, peacefulness, and appreciation of everything that is happening around us in every moment. This version of happiness is more robust, available, and enduring. Happiness is always ever a breath away.

To read the full article, click on this link:   Psychology Today: The Buddha was introvert

 

 

22 thoughts on “Happiness: Buddha style

  1. Thank you, dear Seeker. Your posts are always filled with words that make me smile. Buddha is always smiling. This is such a symbol to find that happiness in our inner world much more than the outer. Not that I don’t enjoy the outer as well. I feel I am a gregarious introvert. Not many would ever take me for an introvert; however, this is where I live! I think that’s why your post the other day that I mentioned the ‘solace in strange places’ rings so true to me. With smiles and a Buddha hug my dear Seeker, Cher xo

      • Thank you! You know something, I am a true introvert; and yet, I am often mistaken for an extrovert. According to Myers-Briggs, I’m an “INFJ”. After reading the description many times, it suits me to a ‘tee’. Thank you for recognizing my inner world is really who I am. “Solace in Strange Places”; yes, it speaks ‘volumes’, to introverts, doesn’t it? *grin* Cher xo

  2. What a comforting article…Thank You!
    Same topic, only Orthodox Christian it reminded me of this book:

    I’ve had good fortune to make a few retreats here and highly recommend the book…the main character is simply referred to as The Seeker 🙂

Please share your reflection. Thank you.