Abandoned ancient city – Pergamum

This is part of what’s left of an ancient city of Pergamum in a modern-day Turkey.  It was also a well-known center for the arts. The theatre was originally built during the 3rd century BC, modified by the Romans. The theater has 80 rows of seats, divided into three sections, with a seating capacity of about 10,000 persons.  It has a very good acoustic sound system.  When I was at the bottom, I could literally hear what my group was talking at the top.abandoned Pergamon Theatre (1)Pergamum is one of the “seven churches of Asia” in the Bible as written by Apostle John in the Book of Revelation.

“To the angel of the church in Pergamum write: ‘I know your works, and where you dwell… where Satan’s throne is. And you hold fast to my name, and did not deny my faith even in the days in which Antipas was my faithful martyr, who was killed among you, where Satan dwells.'” Revelation 2:12

The two trees in the picture are where the “Throne of Satan” was built before. The throne was excavated, relocated, and reconstructed in Berlin.
abandoned Pergamon Theatre (2)

Turkey is literally filed with abandoned ancient relics.  Even in the city, we found a sarcophagus used as a beautiful “settee” for these young girls.

17 thoughts on “Abandoned ancient city – Pergamum

  1. Turkey is one of my favorite countries to visit – even going back with children – as the history is so accessible it makes you feel as if you are living it!

Please share your reflection. Thank you.