Diversity: A whole new world

pride week

Differences including our abilities, appearance, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, race, colour, creed, ancestry, religion, physically challenge and mental faculty make each us unique and the world more interesting.

Sex and Gender is a bit confusing for me.  These are the words I learnt at the school level:

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Transvestite, Transsexual, Two-Spirit, Homosexual, Heterosexual, Straight, Heterosexism, Homophobia, Genderism, Sexual Orientation, Gender, Identity,  Queer.

Working as a public servant, it is vital to accept people for what they are especially when children are involve and are in the process of self-discovery of their sexual orientation.  Be respectful.

It’s not an easy topic for most people to discuss.  I have no problem discussing it but I have to be mindful of other’s that are uncomfortable about this issue. Be sensitive.

It’s a different culture. Be tolerant.

One thing I find offensive is when young ones use derogatory remarks.  Children are more prone to voicing it out because they have a little understanding. It’s just a matter of educating the children.  Guide them.

They are humans, too, just like me. They have human needs.  Be a friend.

19 thoughts on “Diversity: A whole new world

  1. I have from the start for my daughter, but it gets my blood boiling when you hear the stuff coming out of kids mouths on the skytrain, it’s incredible what parents fail to teach..

    • Good, Andy, educating your daughter. I hear you about kids stuff in public. They seem to do it once they are out of school because it’s of the school policy. Unfortunately, when the cats are away, the mice will play. I sure hope they will come to their senses.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.