Fireflies and Stars

Time Fireflies Photograph by Ionut Burloiu

Time Fireflies Photograph by Ionut Burloiu

Fireflies in the Garden

By Robert Frost 

Here come real stars to fill the upper skies,
And here on earth come emulating flies,
That though they never equal stars in size,
(And they were never really stars at heart)
Achieve at times a very star-like start.
Only, of course, they can’t sustain the part.

 

An allegory between the stars and the fireflies:
We may want to shoot for the stars and be like fireflies to shine like the stars but I say just be yourself, you will shine with your inner light.

Image credit to: Ionut Burloiu of Italy for having chosen as one of the best contributors of “After Midnight” Your Shot assignment at National Geographic.  Thank you Ionut for allowing me to share your photo of my memorable childhood.

13 thoughts on “Fireflies and Stars

  1. So very beautiful, eh?

    Have you looked at the moon in the last two nights? It was closest to Earth, as I understand it, and was called a supermoon. I looked, and it really did look bigger! Gotta say, I love nature! 🙂

Please share your reflection. Thank you.