Mary Magdalene

Head of Mary Magdalene by Leonardo da Vinci (1452–1519), charcoal on paper Galleria degli Uffizi, Florence, Italy / Alinari / Bridgeman Art Library

Head of Mary Magdalene by Leonardo da Vinci (1452–1519)

The bride speaks of her beloved:

Upon my bed at night
I sought him whom my soul loves:
I sought him not;
I called him, but he gave no answer.

So, I said to myself,
I will rise now and go about the city,
in the streets and in the squares:
I will seek him whom my soul loves.

I sought him, but found him not.
The sentinels found me,
as they went about in the city.
I asked, “Have you see him whom my soul loves?”

Scarcely had I passed them,
when I found him whom my soul loves.

Songs of Songs (3.1-4a)

Memorial day for  Mary Magdalene, a person of generous love, a holy woman, a disciple of Jesus, and an apostle of the resurrection. She was the first person Jesus appeared to after his resurrection and then ordered her to “go and tell my brothers!”

5 thoughts on “Mary Magdalene

Please share your reflection. Thank you.