Joyeuse Fête de Pères!

When it comes to father’s day, this is a paradox to me.  Firstly, I grew up hardly knowing who my father was. I barely know him. He shaped my childhood from the stories I heard from others. Secondly, we never celebrated father’s day in the Philippines.  There’s no such thing as “wait till your father comes home.” Back then, Mother rules!

Here in North America when summer comes, enter Father’s Day Celebration.

What I learn about fathers are from the children who have fathers in their life as they grow up. Children look up to their fathers as their superheroes. Strong as Superman, faster than a speeding bullet, mightier than an oak tree, with a marshmallow heart that would melt when the kids need some loving and attention.

There is a boy in our building. He always comes out to his balcony every time I do gardening, talks to me non-stop and wants to play a guessing game. His words of wisdom to me is ‘to choose wisely’ as I play along.

I remember when he was born just like yesterday. It was around the 4th of July. I know it was during an American holiday because his Aunt from Washington, DC spent the entire month of July when he came into the world.  She, too, has a voice. “WE WILL, WE WILL ROCK YOU!” she bellowed as she sang a lullaby to him. I heard her sing from the ground floor all the way up to my floor, the third.

Now the kid has the same personality as his Aunt. Cute, smart and very entertaining for a kindergarten.

Yesterday, his dad and I were outside trimming the shrubs while he was singing in French to the tune of twinkle, twinkle, little star.

Daddy, daddy let me say
I love you in every way
I love you for all you do
I love you for being you
Daddy, Daddy let me say
Have a happy Father’s day

He showed me the card he made for his dad and what he wrote: “Joyeuse Fête de Pèrese! de Jaiben” meaning Happy Father’s Day.

Jaiben

Can’t help myself but be proud of him for his accomplishment and Daddy was listening in the background, a kind, quiet and unassuming man, not saying a word.

So, what else will you do for your dad on father’s day, I asked.
It’s a surprise. We will take him out for dinner and to the movies, he says.
What movie?
The new Jurassic park!
And who will pay for all of this?
Of course, Daddy! He has the money.

Hmmm… smart child.

Mostly what I learnt about fatherly love is from John. “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you.” (John 15:9)

Happy Father’s Day Everyone! Have a safe fun-filled summer. Blessings.

9 thoughts on “Joyeuse Fête de Pères!

Please share your reflection. Thank you.