Up Close and Personal

W.H. Sim Photography - June 26, 2015 NatGeo YourShot Daily Dozen

W.H. Sim Photography – June 26, 2015 NatGeo YourShot Daily Dozen

What makes this photo great?
Composition?
Lighting?
Creativity?
Story?

My take is ALL of the above.

For one, the photographer is from Vancouver, Canada and this photo made the National Geographic YourShot Daily Dozen on June 26, 2015. To top that she also has a blog titled W.H. Sim Photography at WordPress.

So, head over to Hui’s site and say hello to my fellow Canadian.

Of course, I have to tell you a personal story about my experience of St. John’s Wort.

When I started gardening, this was one of the herbs I grew for medicinal purposes that help depression. I made tea out of it hoping to chase away the black dog. Well, the black dog was unleashed and did not go well with my system. Eek!

Lesson #1: Do not self-medicate. Now, I can laugh about it.

9 thoughts on “Up Close and Personal

  1. Good morning, Perpetua. A stunning photo. My heart skipped a beat when I saw it (I think). Thank you.
    As far as self-medicating goes… as long as it doesn’t do any harm, I am willing to give it a try. Usually, after one or two tries, I would no longer be interested. 😉
    Have a wonderful day!

    • Good afternoon, Amy. It,s great to see photographers that make it to NatGeo. There is no harm as long as we are aware how our body reacts to it. Perpetua

Please share your reflection. Thank you.