I want to go where nobody knows my name.

Living off the grid

Hummingbird perch off the grid.

Living off the grid means to live simply so others may simply live.
Living off the grid is hard especially in the modern-day world.
Living off the grid is to unplug.

For more than 48 hours, we were literally unplugged when a storm hit Vancouver.

First, there was no water.
Second, the electricity went off.
Third, the phone lines are disconnected.

Thank goodness, the water returned. I can live without electricity but not without water.

No TV, no computer, no heat.

Silence. Serenity. Surrender.

I watched Mother Nature takes its course. No need to think, no need to worry, no need to feel in distress.

The birds and nature played its role and just be what they are supposed to be while humanity is breaking down for living off the grid.

St. Francis Preaches to the Birds
“Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow nor reap [….] And can any of you by worrying add a single hour to your span of life? And why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they neither toil nor spin […] do not worry, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear? […]  So do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring worries of its own. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” Matt. 6:26-34

11 thoughts on “I want to go where nobody knows my name.

  1. true how we miss the so called simple things TILL……its not there anymore
    and then OKE when we dont have it We can manage. Always So many ppl have to every day
    wish u a nice weekend with sun and love
    Mj

  2. There is this feeling of getting off the grid, and how liberating it would be. It is fun to experience this in the short term (like you did in the storm), to think of just how stressless is can be 🙂

  3. It is nice to be off the grid…for short periods. Life is a hassle if without power for long. Then there is the nine floors I have to walk down to go out and the same nine to walk up when I come home. If I am off the grid I want to live on the first floor.

  4. Similar situation occurred here last winter. Ten hours passed…I became jealous on the drive home from work, envious of the power supply to the small towns as I passed them. I returned home, worried – water lines, how to cook meals, how to keep my daughter warm…I wondered if we should move to the west coast where the temps are milder. B.C. is beautiful! Luckily my mother in law still has a wood furnace. We roasted weiner in its flames and had an indoor camping experience. You are right, it is good thing to live off the grid. 😊

Please share your reflection. Thank you.