…anyway. One tough act to follow.

This is the original version of Mother Teresa’s “Do it anyway” posted here written by Dr. Kent M. Keith. It is surprising to know that it was part of booklet for student leaders.

The Paradoxical CommandmentsMother Teresa’s was re-written for spiritual purposes.

In the real world, this is one tough act to follow no matter how good we are. We still lose our “cool” no matter what the status of our life.

There are moments that I carry a heavy cross of being a Catholic learning how First Nations were treated badly in the residential schools run by Catholic priests and nuns.

There are times that it is embarrassing to say that our main employer is the Ministry of Education when we experience first hand how the education system is deteriorating due to budget cuts.

There is a stage in my life that I just want to throw in the towel, say enough is enough and start lashing out at people to shame them.

There is a critical point in my life that I just have to stop and observe what is going on. From observing there is so much to learn.

For most part, I rely on the wisdom of other people, read their brief life history and how they succeeded living a peaceful life.

Recently, I came across John Kanty, a man who was unjustly treated by his employer due to his rivals that cooked up a false charge against him. Thank goodness for his sense of humor and perseverance to do good, he was exonerated. He is well-known for this quote:

“Fight all error, but do it with good humor, patience, kindness, and love. Harshness will damage your own soul and spoil the best cause.”

And I say: Oh Lord, it’s hard to be humble when you are a fighting gator. I don’t
pretend I have all the answers but it’s always good to learn from others.

3 thoughts on “…anyway. One tough act to follow.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.