Theology of Dylan’s Songs

bob dylanI was only seven years old when Mr. Tambourine man played a song for me. Didn’t really pay too much attention to his music until yesterday.

All day, I listened intently to the lyrics of his music, realized he is drawn to spiritual songs and I meditated to his words.

  1. Serve God and meet your full
  2. When a man he serves the Lord, it makes his life worthwhile
  3. God got the power, man has got his vanity
  4. Man gotta choose before God can set him free
  5. Just say that I trusted in God and that Christ was in me
  6. And that there ain’t no man righteous, no not one
  7. Begging God for mercy and weepin’ in unholy places
  8. Have I surrendered to the will of God
  9. Or am I still acting like the boss?
  10. Well, it may be the devil or it may be the Lord
  11. But you’re gonna have to serve somebody
  12. Jesus gonna make up my dying bed
  13. I dreamed I saw St. Augustine
  14. Alive as you or me
  15. I hear that sometimes Satan comes as a man of peace
  16. God knows the secrets of your heart
  17. Did they know He was the Son of God, did they know that He was Lord?
  18. To preach of peace and brotherhood
  19. Oh, what might be the cost!
  20. A man he did it long ago
  21. And they hung him on a cross
  22. Go ahead and talk about him because he makes you doubt
  23. My only prayer is, if I can’t be there
  24. Lord, protect my child
  25. I came to the place where the lone pilgrim lay,
  26. And patiently stood by his tomb,
  27. We live in a political world
  28. Everything is hers or his
  29. Climb into the frame and shout God’s name
  30. But you’re never sure what it is
  31. My faith keeps me alive, but I still be weeping
  32. For the saving grace that’s over me

Bob Dylan is right to say: “We always did feel the same, we just saw it from a different point.”

I see and feel his music in the spiritual realm.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.