Life is full of surprises

Who would know where life would take you. We make plans, we check it twice, we cross our t’s and dot our i’s, we invest all our energy and yet, we could never be sure.

My mother said many times  “expect ingratitude or you’ll be resentful”. Life is full of surprises and I did not expect that my Mother would actually say this.

When it comes to my sister posted in Amber Alert, I am fortunate to see Alan A. Malizia: Contagious Optimism! Co-Author on April 12, 2017 at 1:39 pm said:edit shared a story.

Let me offer a post from my blog: The Good Christmas Thief.”

I was disappointed to find that the life-size Nativity was not on display in the Danielson town green this year. A town parks and recreation representative informed me that the display organizers had arranged to have it moved to a church near the park. Reason being, that the baby Jesus which had been taken from the display, but returned in recent years, was not returned last year.

The thief must have been a good thief. Because only a good thief would know the greatest value of something. That is why he or she chose to take the central figure of the display; which so happens to be the central figure of Christmas. The baby Jesus always draws the most attention. Especially the attention of those who need him most.

Two thousand years ago, another thief was not in a park but on a hill. In his darkest moment, he too was drawn to Jesus. And as a good thief himself, saw great value in the man who hung from the cross next to his. His last act on earth was that of a thief; for he stole heaven.
-Alan

1 thought on “Life is full of surprises

  1. I remember Mother telling me about this ” expect ingratitude ” on things/acts you did or “you’ll feel resentful ” I never did quite know why she said it – is it for me? Or her?
    Now, I have children of my own and come to realize that Mother was right after all. We do things for our children because we love them, and enjoy doing services to them because it makes us feel good and happy without expecting anything in return. If we expect acknowledgement in everything we do or give and wait in vain, we become bitter. It’s hard but takes patience.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.