A Divine Comedy

A fool I was doing my very first pilgrimage on my own, wearing open toed sandals walking the plains of Assisi in a little town called Porziuncola all the way to top of the hill of Assisi where the Basilica of St. Francis stood magnificently fortified with thick Window St. Francis Basilicaconcrete walls. Through a small window, I see how far and small the town is.

I lost a toenail.

Losing a toenail was worth it; the reward is the joy of understanding what St. Francis has been teaching us all along. Joy. The joy that surpasses beyond understanding when I said “Yes” to hope, “Yes” to belief, “Yes” to faith.

Dante Alighieri was right when he wrote the Divine Comedy about St. Francis ‘in His will is our peace.”

Over time, the more I reflected on this journey 17 years ago, I am no longer threatened by anyone’s success for I gave up being proud. Giving up does not mean poverty. Giving up enriches my soul. I wish I can explain it and put it into words, but I can’t. I suppose the best way to describe it as I continuously learn from Francis of Assisi, I am able to assess what is truly important and what is not.

Where there is Love and Wisdom, there is neither Fear nor Ignorance,
Where there is Patience and Humility, there is neither Anger nor Annoyance
Where there is Poverty and Joy, there is neither Cupidity nor Avarice
Where there is Peace and Contemplation, there is neither Care nor Restlessness.
Where there is Fear of God to guard the dwelling, there no enemy can enter.
Where there is Mercy and Prudence, there is neither Excess nor Harshness
Conversion (Admonition XXVII)

Be well. Be blessed. Perpetua

4 thoughts on “A Divine Comedy

  1. The older we become the wiser we become as well. Youth has its positives and experience has its positives as well. May you continue to walk with Christ and grow in His love. Peace.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.