Lead Us Not Into Temptation

 

Books. My brain is salivating looking at these books. It’s so tempting to buy at least three: One Day We’ll All Be Dead and None Of This Will Matter, All The Lives I Want and Depression and Other Magic Tricks. Books.

I know better, I did not purchase a single one for there’s no one at work would like to discuss about them. The common subject is god or dogs.

Dogs are easy subject, the god they utter is dogmatic.

‘God will get them for that’ or ‘God will punish them.’ they say. Then the discussion will verge into two directions: the bad thing that happened or is God really that mean to do bad things to poor behavior of a person?

Staying away from a subjective topic, I jump in to defend God. God do not get nor punish them, it’s the devil. Of course, they laugh at me. They don’t think that devil exist, only God exist.

As a free-thinker, I stay away from the dogma of religion and wait until someone in a position that people will believe in. For the longest time and years of pondering about the Lord’s Prayer, there is a phrase that the heart of my heart do not believe … ‘lead us not into temptation…’

“Lead us not into temptation…” there is no freaking way will God lead me into temptation, the devil does. And I carry on with the prayer by rote … and ‘deliver us from evil. Amen.’

Finally, breaking news:

Pope Francis says Lord’s Prayer may need an update because of ‘lead us not into temptation’ line is not a good translation from ancient texts. He suggested that ‘Do not let us fall into temptation’ might be a better because God does not lead people into temptation, Satan does.  (National Post)

Glad to know that the Pope and I are on the same wavelength.

2 thoughts on “Lead Us Not Into Temptation

  1. Books do that for me too! I’ve never thought that much about that line in the Lord’s Prayer, but when I do think about it I think Pope Francis is on the mark with his observation.

    • I hope people will see and be able to discern the positive value of changing the translation of the text. Thanks for your input, Brett. P

Please share your reflection. Thank you.