The Unbearable Lightness

Who says we have no sense of humor?  We are the first one that poke jokes on what we believe in to have fun and lighten up.

When we were trying to open this door, no matter how much we pulled and pushed, it just won’t open. Giving up, we all said, “We’ll we are sinners that heaven closed its door!” (Belly laugh).

Furthermore, the clergy are pretty good in being unbearably light. Seriously, we have to have the gift of being silly.

God, grant me the serenity
to accept the people I cannot change,
which is pretty much everyone,
since I’m clearly not you, God.
At least not the last time I checked.

And while you’re at it, God,
please give me the courage
to change what I need to change about myself,
which is frankly a lot, since, once again,
I’m not you, which means I’m not perfect.
It’s better for me to focus on changing myself
than to worry about changing other people,
who, as you’ll no doubt remember me saying,
I can’t change anyway.

Finally, give me the wisdom to just shut up
whenever I think that I’m clearly smarter
than everyone else in the room,
that no one knows what they’re talking about except me,
or that I alone have all the answers.

Basically, God,
grant me the wisdom
to remember that I’m
not you.

Amen

 

Source: The Jesuit Post

4 thoughts on “The Unbearable Lightness

  1. Hmm, I don’t believe in God in the same way as others. I see each of us as being perfection in our imperfection. We all want to change and be better people, but why do we do this, to fit a social stereotype or because we truly wish it. I have never fitted and of the square holes of life, but i’d rather be that round peg with my life memories than anything else. We are not made to all be the same. We are made to shine as the people we are.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.