What a day. Snow in Vancouver.

 

 

It hardly snows in Vancouver. Winter is not winter, without snow. Last night it snowed.

Calvin:   Wow, it really snowed last night! Isn’t it wonderful?
Hobbes: Everything familiar has disappeared! The world looks brand-new!
Calvin:   A new year … a fresh, clean start!
Hobbes: It’s like having a big white sheet on paper to draw on!
Calvin:   A day of possibilities! It’s a magical world Hobbes, Ol’ Buddy….

It is a magical world. A new season in the liturgical calendar, Lent.

Today, I have three things to celebrate, not necessary in this order: Father’s death anniversary, Ash Wednesday and Valentines Day. I will celebrate them all in my way. I will not feel guilty for not able to follow the rules of some primitive teachings in the Catholic world.

Some will entirely disconnect in social media. I won’t. I will fill in the vacuum that they left behind, explore, revisit the very first person, Scott Reeves, I subscribed to about awareness and reflect on it.

Who is Scott Reeves? I don’t know him. Our link ended abruptly when I received an email from his wife.

“I am so sorry to have to tell you that my husband Scott died suddenly on May 22.  I regret that I cannot continue his work.  It is complete. Thank you for asking about him.”

With a reflection added:
“Why is everyone here so happy except me?”
“Because they have learned to see goodness and beauty everywhere,”  said the Master.
“Why don’t I see goodness and beauty everywhere?”
“Because you cannot see outside of you what you fail to see inside.”
                                                                                            ~ Anthony de Mello, SJ

MORSEL:   It is not easy to find happiness in ourselves, and impossible to find it elsewhere. ~ Agnes Repplier

It indeed took time to digest the absence of “Scott Reeves” every morning in the e-mail.  He was most faithful and always prompt and kind when asked for help.  Adjusting to the news that his work is complete. The work of any sort of guide/teacher is to make themselves dispensable, and so it is here: we must fly forth, and serve with kindness and humility as Scott served us.  And so the blessings of his life spread…

That was the year 2004 before the blogging world.

I am not giving up. I choose to give more. Whatever leads me closer to God. The day will come, just like Scott, it will stop until I am called.

3 thoughts on “What a day. Snow in Vancouver.

  1. I don’t know Scott Reeves. Sounds like a stellar person. From just a short time of witnessing your work online, I believe you are doing a similar thing. Your insights and observations are quite stunningly beautiful.

  2. A fresh start- an omen???
    That’s what I think. Imagine, snowed
    on Ash Wednesday and on Valentine’s Day for that when the world is celebrating Love – God is Love and all
    Who loves lives in God.♥️

  3. That would certainly be a surprising email. It’s like on Facebook. The person who has passed quite often is on Facebook for the rest of forever, because no one has access to their account. I think it is a blessing in disguise actually. It helps keep them close to our hearts. Every once in a while I get a post from someone who has passed. Of course it is not them, or…is it? Someone else writes a post on their site, to say they are missed etc. I like it actually.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.