Chase Your Words

 

 

STORYTIME

This game made me relive my childhood. Ocarina Of Time was the first video game I was ever introduced to when I was 4 years old by my dad. My dad used to do graveyard shifts at work so he could spend the day with me working on getting my motor skills in my hands to be fully functional. I had echolalia (a symptom of autism) and feeble hands. As ironic as it is to have the main character (Link) who just shouts out complete gibberish, the game alongside with my dad helped me with the necessary understanding, communication, and decision making. Here I am now 19 years later playing this extraordinary open-world adventure which reminded me of when I first played the game with a vivid 4-year-old imagination. Looking at how far the series has come, I feel like this game hit close to home, and I have grown with it. I owe a huge thanks to Nintendo for making the video game part of my childhood so influential, considering everything it’s done for me. I can speak normally and conjure my own thoughts, live my daily life, and I can play guitar and sing for my band. I am blessed I’m forever grateful for everything dad Angelo Siglos has done to help with my growth and development, and I’m a damn proud Legend Of Zelda fan. Always will be.

Well… guess that’s that. The story mode to Legend Of Zelda: Breath Of The Wild is finished. Now to just roam around and explore!

Christopher is my nephew, and he has excelled in what he loves doing.  He has a band called “Chase Your Words.”  I can understand the meaning of this band due to the ‘disability’ he went through.  Now, he is a very talented musically inclined young man, open with this ‘disability,’ educate people in technology and an advocate on mental illness especially on social media.  He loves his cat.

As much as we want to protect our younger generations from mental illness and social media, we cannot.  It’s there waiting, and we do not know how it will creep into their lives.  However, Christopher is smart enough to use these in saving lives.

Recently, he posted this on FaceBook and Instagram reaching out.

This may come as a shock to many since I am someone who advocates mental health awareness, but with transparency, honesty, and pure discretion, it pains me to say it, and I’m crying as I type this out, but two nights ago I had a suicidal episode and decided it would be a wise idea to run into oncoming traffic and end my life. Thankfully I’m alive, and nobody is hurt, nor did any accident(s) happen, but it was easily the stupidest and most dangerous thing I have ever done.

You’re probably asking yourself why I would put myself in a position where I would want to kill myself. I won’t get into full details, but I’ve dealt with a ton of issues for as long as I can remember with body dysmorphia, depression, anxiety, and a strong lack of self-worth. It had all come up because I felt I couldn’t take life anymore and I felt unlovable. I felt helpless.

Why is it nobody seems to genuinely love me? Why is it that most people don’t want to stick around? People walk in and out of my life all the time, but the most painful moments are the ones where those you love the most leave you in the times when you need their love and support the most. It was the most emotional buildup I have ever felt in my life, and I’m extremely disappointed in myself for almost pursuing a permanent solution to temporary problems.

I’m disappointed in myself for being a hypocrite and threatening my own life. I’m disappointed because one single action alone would have devastated and destroyed the hearts of so many people that love and care for me.

It’s crazy to think about. I almost died. No more family. No more friends. No more band. No more opportunities to love. No future. Nothing. I would be gone.

I’m so sorry to all my family, my friends, and anyone I’ve hurt with all my years of emotional instability. I haven’t been true to myself or to any of you, and I’m seeking the help I desperately need to get better mentally. I never intend to hurt anyone, and unfortunately hurting myself has only made things worse.

Christopher is surrounded by many caring for his welfare: parents, uncles/aunties, cousins, friends, and followers.  In social media, they expressed how strong he is for admitting a moment of weakness.  An outpouring of support and love are there for him.  Some have shared their own experience with their struggle with mental illness, and it does get better as you go through life.

Speaking for myself, as a person living with mental illness, I take this seriously.  It does get easier as I get older and learn all the subtleties of this disease to take control of it instead of taking control of my life.

Educate, communicate, advocate, reach out to medical fields.  Do whatever it takes to live life.

I did leave him a message on FaceBook, “Christopher, Tita Lady here.  Let`s go for coffee and call me or message me.  I love you, we love you, we are here for you.  The whole clan loves you.”

ps: God Loves You.  We constantly keep you on our prayers.  Pray to St. Christopher.

pps: Thank you, Lord. Chris is okay and has no longer the post above.

 

 

1 thought on “Chase Your Words

Please share your reflection. Thank you.