Human Soul


Just before I woke up from a deep sleep, I dreamt of a single red rose. I can’t remember what the dream was, but the rose stayed with me.

The night before, I watched a video of Aokigahara Documentary.The narrator has the most beautiful voice. It’s not an easy watch. The primary purpose of the show is for suicide prevention.

“… it simply does not have to end this way. I’ve said it many times before, your life is so precious and we all go through rough times, some a lot more than others, and things may seem thought at the minute but if you work on it, it can and will get better.”

Aokigahara is the well-known suicide forest of Japan. Many lives have perished in this area.

I went to bed with a heavy heart for all those lost souls still trapped on earth tormented. I decided to say One Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory Be to pray for each person that committed suicide in the forest hoping the dead may rest in peace.

Who knows how many of these prayers I said over and over again until I fell into a deep sleep?

Then, I woke up with a single rose in my mind.

In various faith, a rose symbolizes human soul, spiritual joy, heaven.

I take solace that maybe the single rose represents one soul that made it to heaven.

4 thoughts on “Human Soul

Please share your reflection. Thank you.