The Value of Labor

Myth of Sisyphus

Albert Camus wrote the book Myth of Sisyphus.

The myth of Sisyphus is an endless toil of pushing the boulder up on top of the mountain. As soon as he is closer to the top, the rock rolls down to the bottom. He goes back down to do the same thing over again. A never-ending loop. In Camus’ book, we have to assume that he is happy.

A futile laborious effort. An eternal waste of time. Repetitive. Boring. Useless.

Why?

Is the joy in the struggle?

What is he trying to prove?

Maybe he is a narcissistic masochist.

8 thoughts on “The Value of Labor

  1. I think the idea he is a narcissist is a good one πŸ™‚ The cartoon is just perfect to boot as well. This post does give me something to think about, and that is in regards to many parts of life ~ we all are taking joy in the struggle to some extent. I guess that is a good thing πŸ™‚ ? Cheers to a great week ahead, Perpetua, and I hope you’ve had a glorious summer.

    • With the introduction of technology, selfie is definitely one way of saying, look at me! Unfortunately no one is looking but himself. I’ve seen so much people travelling taking photos of themselves and have not noticed the surrounding area. Take care, Randall. Summer went and now it’s fall returning to home sweet home in beautiful British Columbia.

  2. No labor is wasted. Whatever we do is of value to someone. Whether the gardener or the brain surgeon. Those who wash dishes daily, if offered up for the glory of God, is of greater value than the statesman who does not.
    -Alan

  3. What are the odds? The story of Sisyphus has jumped into the limelight. I wrote about a bit about Sisyphus just last week! I love the cartoon you found – totally made me laugh.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.