Koda-Kan

Koda-kan is a Filipino terminology we gave to Japanese tourist taking tons of pictures. It’s such a cliche in a fun way because when we Filipinos get together and wants our group photo, we say “Let’s go Koda-kan.”

Shūkabutsu is Japanese translation of bromide, an anime. I could never get tired watching Japanese anime. They are soothing more than boring.

Toph Beifon is my favourite blind bromide. She hates it when others think of her useless without sight. To use her line “Let’s see who is the blind one!” She’s a hero in the movie Avatar, the last air bender.

Sayonara.

3 thoughts on “Koda-Kan

  1. OK, this is wrong, but I did it. when I taught at an international school I had a LOT of Japanese students, mostly high school girls. I took them on field trips for the school — like the San Diego Zoo. I was required to take photos for a “Memory Book.” I discovered my Japanese students could line up according to height in three rows in seconds. I started enjoying just pointing a camera at them just to watch even if the camera was empty (it was back in the film days). 😀

    • I am guilty as well in pretend camera shots on the children. But I wish I like taking people photos. I must say when I used to offer home-stay for international students to learn English in Vancouver, the Japanese are warm, friendly and funny. Even though they returned to Japan, we exchanged letters. When they visited Vancouver again, they came to see us. Well, I have no Kodak memories.

      • I enjoyed my Japanese students. One of them became my roommate for six months. HIs father and his father’s best friend came to visit. They were WW II veterans and really thought Americans had nothing in common with the Japanese, but they saw my garden and both old mens’ hearts melted. A woman who was a kabuki artist came back to visit. I saved letters from one of my students who was incredibly smart and articulate and philosophical. They were great. I have only a few Kodak memories of this, though. But I saved some letters. 🙂

Please share your reflection. Thank you.