Living With Fragments.

Gathering fragments and using them to fill the space in the vase becomes a new way of keeping the plant to root in water. I can tell you a story about each piece in the vase and how I collected them. But that’s a long story

In its primary aspect, a painting has no more spiritual message than an exquisite fragment of Venetian glass. The channels by which all noble and imaginative work in painting should touch the soul are not those of the truths of lives. – Oscar Wilde

These images fragmented art created by talented students at the school. The bits and pieces of materials put together made it possible to see the beauty of the art.

The work of art, just like any fragment of human life considered in its deepest meaning, seems to me devoid of value if it does not offer the hardness, the rigidity, the regularity, the luster on every interior and exterior facet, of the crystal. – Pope Paul VI

I have a collection of broken dishes and pottery that can be used as a Kintsugi. Kintsugi is the Japanese art of putting broken pottery pieces back together with gold — “built on the idea that in embracing flaws and imperfections, you can create an even stronger, more beautiful piece of art.” Gold? Sorry, I’m not rich enough to buy gold.

Here in the garden is where I placed these fragments to repurpose them as ornaments or borders for the plants.

I must admit, I’m known to speak and write in fragments since I’m not fluent in English.

13 thoughts on “Living With Fragments.

  1. Hi Perpetua – I enjoyed your take on the fragments prompt, nicely done. Your creative Kintsugi garden is enchanting. I haven’t tried that technique in my gardens, I wonder if it keeps rabbits and deer from eating the plants? 🤔

  2. I have never heard the word Kintsugi. I love the concept of broken pieces to become art. Almost like a 3D mosaic. Now I know what. I can with my pieces too. And your waiting is fantastic.

  3. Beautiful Perpetua – love the idea! Your garden is lovely as is your spirit. As for your English, it’s perfect. Not many can write and think in multiple languages!

  4. Kintsugi is so pretty. I have a couple of small bowls that I have saved, hoping I’d find someone local who could put them back together. Without gold, I like your idea of repurposing them in your garden. Clever woman!

    • Those bowls must be very special to you, Lois. I did fix one elephant-shaped planter with krazy glue. Saw the idea of repurposing items in the community gardens.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.