Legacy and term of endearment.

Nickname is a cultural thing. Growing up as a Filipino, we love our nicknames. It’s a term of endearment, kinship and affection amongst us.

Having 12 siblings, we normally address each other by nicknames. How my mom came up with our names depends on her pregnancy.

Lucia’s Legacy – painted by Dan S. Siglos

My brother, Danny, painted this media according to what we’re good at. His caricature is obvious as a painter.

What’s the story behind your nickname?

Here’s a list from oldest to youngest. Prounciation is vital.

  • Myrna – Myrns, Ate
  • Brian – Bri, Boy, Kuya
  • Susan – Su, Detse
  • Nilda – Nilds, Nikki
  • Carmen – Beng, Baby, Ate Babes
  • Thelma – Thel, The
  • Peter – Jun Jun, Pete
  • Danilo – Danny, Dan
  • Evelyn – Poteet, GG
  • Victor – Tyrone, Vic
  • Felipe – Dondi
  • Angelo – Angel, Gel

Some of us have a second name. For our middle name, we use our mother’s last name. Our last name is our father’s last name.

Mine is fairly long. Maria Perpetua aka Lady, Pet, mps, Sig, Miss Pretty. How did I get them? It’s a long story.

So, what is your nickname?

5 thoughts on “Legacy and term of endearment.

  1. Mom got my name Poteet from a comic strip -Poteet Canyon, a tomboyish girl who’s full of energy. Who would have known that I’ll be like her. GG is Gorgeous Grandma , which I am of 7 grandkids ❤️🥰🥳😂.
    Evelyn just fits me well!
    Thanks Mom 🥰❤️

    • I always say if you have three, it’s better to have four. Yes, a sister would be nice. That’s a great idea that we all have one. I think I’ll have this printed.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.