Good times. Good times.

When I go missing, the first place will find me is in the garden. This is the place I spend most of my time. In the garden, I have no concept of time. The light of the day will tell me. This is my playground.

Take time to play
It is the source of perpetual youth.

The garden is an inviting place where strangers will come and talk to me. A new neighbour introduced himself asking for plants for his garden. I was more than happy to give him plenty and much more. One time, he brought his grandson.

Take time to be friendly
It is the road to happiness

Ryan is the boy’s name and I noticed he was fiddling with a coin. The coin became the focus of our conversation. He was proud to find a foreign coin. I asked him if he cares to start a coin collection. His eyes lit up and he said yes. He is young enough to start one and by the time he’s an adult, he will have all kinds of coins. Oh good, I said. In this case, I will give you my collections. I will give them to your grandpa to give it to you. He left happy on his way to buy Slurpee at 7-11.

Take time to give
It is too short a day to be selfish

And here he is with a box full of coins I collected from different countries that I visited. He was overwhelmed by the heavy box and holding 5000 Yen paper money. Look at his face as we watched him with joy.

Grandpa said to Ryan “You know, you have to write a thank you card for this gift.”

After that day, I never saw the boy again. He was just visiting for three days and went home to another province of Canada.

Yesterday, Grandpa called and said he received a package from Ryan’s mom with an envelope addressed to me.

Dear Maria. I’m writing this letter to thank you for the money. And just as we though when we went through security we got trigger. And than you again for the count. I really appreciate it.

Ryan Age 8
Take time to pray
It is the greatest power on earth.

In closing, I leave you the full Take Time poem

Take time to laugh
It is the music of the soul.

Take time to think
It is the source of power.

Take time to play
It is the source of perpetual youth.

Take time to read
It is the fountain of wisdom.

Take time to pray
It is the greatest power on earth.

Take time to love and be loved
It is a God-given privilege.

Take time to be friendly
It is the road to happiness

Take time to give
It is too short a day to be selfish

Take time to work
It is the price of success

Author Unknown

P.S. Maria is my first name. And favourite phrase not word is Good times. Good times.

16 thoughts on “Good times. Good times.

  1. This is a very special and inspirational post! Ryan and his Grandpa will probably always remember your kindness in sharing from your garden and passing your coin collection to Ryan. I love the Take time poem! Good advice for everyone.

  2. Perpetua, this post is so YOU!!! Of course you love your garden and of course you shared some plants with your new neighbor. But OF COURSE you gave your coin collection to the little boy and OF COURSE he sent you that beautiful little note. Loved the verse as well. You are a priceless gem my friend.

  3. Time…what an amazing example you have not only given to us, but to Ryan who appreciates the time you gave him. He will never forget that. And you tricked me, for a minute, Maria. I read your first sentence, and said to myself: “me too, me too!”It is a great pastime, a great playground. Thank you for finishing your post with the poem. It was a great reminder.

    And PS. Do you love Grandpas shirt as much as I do?

  4. What a nice surprise–coins from you and thank you note from Ryan. Have you read the poem ‘Anyway’ by Mother Teresa? A favorite of mine. This one reminds me of it.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.