Hunger Cues

When I was in Cuba, it seemed that I was always eating because the food is one constant when I travel. Needless to say, after dinner, I go for a walk.

One night, we found a mother cat nursing it’s baby under the bush.
Cats (1)As humans, we are curious how many kittens are there and we started looking for the rest of the litter.Cats (3)

We found two more. Of course, we cannot just leave them alone on the dirt. They need a comfortable bed.
Cats (4)They are just so adorable meowing looking for something to suck on. It must be dinner time for them.
Cat FamilyIn contrast, I saw a photograph in the Cuban Museum nursing her child. It seemed to me that this was taken in a church. This made my heart glow.
Breastfeeding

Nowadays, the public does not wish to see any mothers baring their breast to feed a hungry child.

“As he said this, a woman in the crowd raised her voice and said to him, ‘Blessed is the womb that bore you, and the breasts that you nursed!’ But he said, ‘Blessed rather are those who hear the word of God and keep it.’” Luke 11:27-28

6 thoughts on “Hunger Cues

  1. I always find it interesting that we smile as we watch animals nurse their offspring and cry out in anger when a human offers its most precious thing in life the same nutritional sustenance. Rather than being judgemental we would likely experience a better emotional feeling if we marveled at the blessing and beauty in the relationship between mother and child.

  2. I don’t know what it is about breast feeding that seems to cause such controversy. I breast fed both my daughters and 10 years ago that was the go, but the medical fraternity seem to keep changing their minds on this topic. My friend has just given birth and is is urged to alternate breast and bottle starting at 3 months with the bottle. I give up

Please share your reflection. Thank you.