No matter where I go, I’m always going home

Hang on. There are no disappointments or calamities that tomorrow will not cure.

Hang on. There are no disappointments or calamities that tomorrow will not cure.

It’s a dreamy day, a slight dusting of the snow;
The cats are snuggly ensconced on the couch.
On a day like this, I love listening to Rod McKuen.
A writer, a poet, a singer.

I collected so much of his poetry books.
Read and reread it
Pages earmarked on some
Scribbles on the pages of the book
Names of people who I can relate to the poetry
Most of these people are long gone from my life.

Rod kept them alive through his poetry.
It’s kind of silly to keep the memories of the past
And the weight of this is a burden for most times.
I wish I could carry it with a smile just like Buddha
Life doesn’t work out that way, one must let go.
Letting go of the memories starts by letting go of the books.
I gave away all of Rod’s poetry books.

Now I am going home.

“Home is something that you carry in your head
It lives within your heart forever.

And so I know no matter where I go in life
I’m always going home.

9 thoughts on “No matter where I go, I’m always going home

  1. I still have a poetry book of him;
    not getting rid of it – as you said , it
    brings back memories of those whose
    who you can relate to.
    Sometimes, I find it hard to let go.😯

    • Thanks, Tm. This is my favorite Buddha and very pleasant to touch. Yes, solid wood. This figure helps me to keep on smiling regardless of the load of the burden. You are welcome.

Please share your reflection. Thank you.