Play it again, Sam! Street Piano

Remember the piano on the street in Vancouver I posted here? Apparently, it is a hit as well in Ontario.  How did I find this out? Mainly because of other bloggers that are kind enough to share what they found due to earlier postings. Note: Please vote for Kathryn here.

I came across Michael McNamara performing on my #streetpiano, Foxgang Amadeus.
Apologies for the shaky video, I didn’t have time to use a tripod or set up my camera. I designed/painted it for the streets of #Cobourg, #Ontario for the “Keys to our Town” art initiative. The piano is located at the northwest corner of Victoria Park. Sorab Bulsara carved the ears and stool for me from an old tree stump, using only a chainsaw by Katriona Dean.

And these what people are saying:

     Actually this brought tears to my eyes too! Couldn’t believe the people walking by…if only I was lucky enough to walk by in person and have the chance to stop and listen for a bit. And the smile at the end was so beautiful.

     Everything about this video is simply perfect! Yes, the quality of the sound/video too! A brilliant artist had the excellent idea of leaving a beautifully designed piano in the middle of the sidewalk waiting for some random talented person to give him/her the chance to give a little show to the people walking around. It’s amazing. Imagine it, maybe you’re stressed or nervous or simply having a bad day and you bump into this. The video makes me feel warm inside, knowing there is people with a creative mind and a nice heart that want to share something with the rest.

     I live in Texas.  Micheal is Fabulous!  I’m sharing this, all the way down here.  Love the piano and the artistry of the whole thing. I’m in awe of this piece of art. Truly moving. WOW!

And from the player: Michael McNamara:
     Absolutely incredible! Thanks everyone and, despite all the tears I’ve caused to be shed I’m happy so many people are liking my music. I hope to have more to come soon. Over a million hits!

Thank you, Imelda of My Word Wall for sharing this.

4 thoughts on “Play it again, Sam! Street Piano

Please share your reflection. Thank you.